PARA Meeting Minutes – January 14, 2023

The January 14, 2023 meeting of the Philipsburg Amateur Radio Association was called to order by president Darren Dixon at 12:02 pm in the second-floor meeting room of American Legion Post #437 in Philipsburg PA.

Audio Recording

Listen to the entire meeting

Members in Attendance

  • Darren Dixon, President
  • John Horgas, Vice-President
  • Bob Snyder, Secretary
  • Tim Leet
  • Chris Deck
  • Johna McCormick
  • Ryan Williams
  • Scott Rummings
  • Dick Thompson
  • Greg Guise
  • Jim Warg
  • Cody Beish
  • John Lee

Treasurer’s Report (electronically submitted by Jason Terosky, Treasurer)

December Starting Balance$965.71
Funds Received in December$1400.00
— $400 dues
— $1000 Philipsburg borough donation
December Ending Balance (reconciled with CNB statement)$2365.71
Dues received in January$40.00
Current CNB balance$2405.71

Liability Insurance

Bob Snyder presented a quote from Hrenko Insurance Agency of Philipsburg, PA for a $2 million liability insurance policy at an annual cost of $435. The policy would cover all PARA members as well as the following entities:

Insured EntityFacilities Used by PARA Members
Centre County GovernmentRattlesnake repeater site
Philipsburg repeater site at District Court building (if funded and approved)
American Legion Post #437Second-floor meeting room
Second-floor office used as an amateur radio station
PAComm LLC (Tom Pecosh)Sandy Ridge repeater site

PARA member Greg Guise noted that he is currently required by Centre County Government to carry a liability insurance policy for the UHF repeater that he has installed at the Rattlesnake repeater facility. He suggested that the proposed PARA insurance policy might be sufficient to cover all PARA repeater activities at Rattlesnake and indicated that he might be willing to contribute to the annual cost of the PARA policy.

A motion to authorize a maximum expenditure of $435 for liability insurance was made and seconded. The motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Before purchasing the insurance policy, PARA officers will contact the relevant parties to explore the feasibility of Greg’s suggestion.

Lease of Office Space

A motion to authorize PARA officers to sign a lease agreement with American Legion Post #437 was made and seconded. The motion carried by a unanimous vote.

The lease provides exclusive use of a secure office located on the second floor of the American Legion building at 315 E. Presqueisle St, Philipsburg, PA. The office space will be used as an emergency communications (EmComm) radio station to benefit the residents of Philipsburg Borough and the Moshannon Valley region.

Nominations of Officers

President Darren Dixon asked for nominations of officers for the year 2023. No nominations were made by any of the members in attendance, and no nominations were submitted electronically. A motion to retain the existing officers in their current positions was made and seconded. The motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Since none of the elected offices are contested, there is no need to have elections at the February meeting. Consequently , the officers for 2023 are as follows:

OfficeElected Member
PresidentDarren Dixon
Vice-PresidentJohn Horgas
SecretaryBob Snyder
TreasurerJason Terosky


The following members volunteered to contribute to PARA’s success in 2023:

PARA Facebook Page AdministratorScott Rummings
PARA Facebook Page ContributorJohna McCormick
EmComm CoordinatorBob Snyder
EmComm AdvisorsScott Rummings
Darren Dixon

EmComm Team Members
Joe Petrulionis (via prior communication)
John Horgas
Chris Deck
Ryan Williams
Tim Leet

Upcoming Events

The following activities were scheduled:

Date & TimeActivityVolunteers
Monday, Jan 16 – 9:00 amReplace ceiling tiles at the Rattlesnake repeater facility.John Horgas
Darren Dixon
Bob Snyder
Greg Guise
Monday, Jan 23 – 5:00 pmClean attic, clean and repaint office space at American Legion building.
– Chris Deck will supply paint, brushes, rollers, etc.
Darren Dixon
Bob Snyder
Chris Deck

Respectfully submitted,
Bob Snyder, Secretary
Jan 15, 2023